[ Main contents start here ]

Notice about fraud

Jun 14, 2012


We would like to notify you of a fraudulent use of our name "Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group" and domain name including the character of "MUFG".


We have recently become aware of e-mails sent under the name of "Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group" from an address that seeks to mimic a legitimate "MUFG"” domain address, an example being "bk-mufg-jp.com". This e-mail appears to have been used fraudulently to promote the sending of an advance payment of funds (referred to as “pre-payment interview/endorsement fee”) to some law firm in order to enable huge sums of inheritance moneys to be released/transferred to the email recipient.


"bk-mufg-jp.com" is not an authorized e-mail address of the Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group. It is not authorized by any company within our group including The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ, Ltd., and there is no record of such a message having been sent from the e-mail server of the Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group companies.


Such e-mails are in no way associated with any of the Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group companies, and they have been used without the knowledge or consent of the Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group companies.


We appreciate your understanding.