Opening of Kaohsiung Branch in Taiwan and Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ (China), Ltd. Fuzhou Branch

Tokyo, February 25, 2016 ---The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ, Ltd. (BTMU) (President: Nobuyuki Hirano) is pleased to announce that it has opened Kaohsiung Branch in Taiwan and its wholly-owned subsidiary, Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ (China), Ltd.(BTMU China), opened Fuzhou Branch in Fujian, China and they commenced operations on February 25th, 2016.

Kaohsiung is Taiwan's second largest city, and is located in the southern area. The city is a key business center for China-Taiwan business (*1) and has one of the largest trading ports in Asia (the largest in Taiwan), behind the Port of Hong Kong, Port of Singapore and Port of Shanghai. Recently, Kaohsiung is actively inviting Japanese companies. Fujian has been designated as a target area of China's "One Belt, One Road (*2)" national strategy which aims to connect China, Southeast Asia, India, East Africa and Europe, and a Free Trade Zone (*3) was established in April 2015. Fuzhou is expected to develop further as its capital city.

*1: China-Taiwan business

Business between mainland China and Taiwan

*2: One Belt, One Road

A new economic zone strategy put forward by China that aims to build a "Silk Road Economic Belt (One Belt)" and a "21st Century Maritime Silk Road (One Road)." It promotes the liberalization of trade and investment while making infrastructure investments primarily in developing countries.

*3: Free Trade Zone

A pilot zone where trade and financial deregulation is being implemented on a trial basis. These zones have been established in Shanghai, Tianjin, Guangdong and Fujian as of February 2016.

Kaohsiung and Fuzhou are located nearby each other geographically. China-Taiwan business is expected to develop further because recently the number of individual tourists from China to Taiwan is surging and Taiwanese companies are actively operating and investing in Fujian. By establishing the new Branches in the two key cities for China-Taiwan business at the same time, BTMU will be able to meet the various needs of customers, including Japanese companies aiming to expand business in Kaohsiung and Fuzhou and customers considering whether to start business in the two cities.

<Reference>

Following the opening of the Fuzhou Branch, BTMU China now has the following network:

- Branch: Shenzhen, Shanghai, Dalian, Beijing, Tianjin, Wuxi, Guangzhou, Chengdu, Qingdao, Wuhan, Shenyang, Suzhou, Fuzhou (13 locations)
- Sub-Branch: Tianjin Binhai, Dalian Economic & Technological Development Area, Guangzhou Nansha, Shanghai Hongqiao, Beijing Economic-Technological Development Area, Shanghai Pilot Free Trade Zone (6 locations*4)
 - *4: Preparations are being made to open Suzhou Changshu Sub-Branch (7 locations if the Sub-Branch is included)