Preliminary Approval for Opening Hangzhou Branch

Tokyo, 5 September 2016 --- The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ (China), Ltd. ("BTMUC"), a wholly owned subsidiary of The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ, Ltd. ("BTMU," President & CEO: Takashi Oyamada) ,a member of Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group (MUFG), has obtained preliminary approval for opening Hangzhou Branch from the China Banking Regulatory Commission. After undergoing necessary procedures with the local authorities, BTMU will work towards opening Hangzhou Branch as a branch of BTMUC.

Hangzhou, the capital of Zhejiang Province, is located in the Yangtze River Delta in the southeastern part of China and is a large city representative of East China. As one of China's leading industrial cities and the host city for the G20 Summit held for September of this year, it is regarded as one of China's key cities. Zhejiang, the province including Hangzhou, has the fourth largest economy in China after Guangdong Province, Jiangsu Province, and Shandong Province, based on its 2015 GDP. Favorably situated next to the largest Chinese city, Shanghai, to the northwest, Anhui Province and Jiangxi Province to the west, and Fujian Province to the south, many Japanese companies operate in the region.

Since opening BTMUC in July 2007, BTMU has continued to enhance its services to customers across China. The planned opening of Hangzhou Branch will expand BTMU's mainland China office network (excluding Hong Kong) to 14 branches and seven sub-branches for a total of 21 offices of BTMUC. BTMU will leverage its office network, the largest among Japanese banks, and respond to customer needs better than ever.

<Reference>

Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ (China), Ltd.

- Branches: Shenzhen, Shanghai, Dalian, Beijing, Tianjin, Wuxi, Guangzhou, Chengdu, Qingdao, Wuhan, Shenyang, Suzhou, Fuzhou, and Hangzhou (preparing to open)— 14 offices in total
- Sub-branches: Tianjin Binhai, Dalian Economic & Technological Development Area,
 Guangzhou Nansha, Shanghai Hongqiao, Beijing Economic-Technological
 Development Area, Shanghai Pilot Free Trade Zone, Suzhou Changshu
 —7 offices in total